Wednesday, November 7, 2012

California: San Fernando Mayor, Council members ousted in recall

All three sex-scandal scarred San Fernando elected officials were removed yesterday (though one resigned previously). Mayor Brenda Esqueda and Councilwoman Maribel De La Torre both lost in overwhelming fashion, Esqueda 84.12-15.88% (3243-612) and De La Torre 85.49-14.51% (3,269-555).

Councilman Mario Hernandez, who resigned in July, lost 86.3-13.7% (3,243-515).

Replacements were also chosen in the same race:

Jesse Avila defeated Victoria Mojica 73 percent to 26 percent in the race to replace Esqueda. Robert Gonzales will take Hernandez's former seat after getting 63 percent and easily beating two challengers, Gilbert Berriozabal and Bennie Nejar Jr.
In the race to succeed De La Torre, Joel Fajardo held a lead of 164 votes over Louis Lopez, the nearest of three challengers. All precincts in the city were reporting as of this morning, but it was unclear whether absentee ballots could affect that outcome.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.