Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Kansas: Four Baxter Springs City Council members facing petitions from mayor's supporters

Four City Council members are facing recall petitions from supporters of Mayor Jenifer Bingham. The council members are Gary Allen, Robert St. Clair, Ron Costlow and Ed McAfee.

Petitioners need 40% of turnout in 90 days (between 34 and 112 signatures). Since this is Kansas, a judicial recall/malfeasance state, they need a cause of action. As per usual, they are citing a violation of open meeting laws.

The turmoil erupted at the April 10 council meeting, when Bingham appointed people of her own choosing to replace City Clerk Donna Wixon and police Chief David Edmondson. The council voted 6-2 against the mayor’s appointments and took action so the appointees didn’t later automatically take office. 
Bingham the next day placed Wixon on paid suspension and changed the locks at City Hall. The council eventually restored Wixon to her job.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.