Friday, April 5, 2013

North Carolina: State approves law allowing Ronda to adopt recall provisions

North Carolina's legislature has approved a bill (since signed by the Governor) allowing Ronda to vote in November  on whether to adopt a recall law. Ronda's original charter allowed a recall law.
The recall issue in Ronda first came up this fall when a petition signed by over 76 residents recalling Ronda Mayor Victor Varela was presented to the town. The petition was started by Kevin Reece who was not selected to an empty seat on the board. An official with the state said the town did not have recall capability.
This is also of interest:
Information from the N.C. School of Government provided a list of the following towns with recall capability. They are Aberdeen, Asheville, Cajah’s Mountain, Carrboro, Chapel Hill, Durham, Foxfire, Greensboro, Hickory, Lewisville, Lumberton, Oak Island, Pinebluff, Pleasant Garden, Raleigh, Randleman, River Bend, Statesville, Troutman and Winston-Salem. Recall is also permitted for the Chapel Hill-Carrboro school board.  No counties have recall for their commissioners.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.