Monday, December 28, 2020

Missouri: Recall effort against six Joplin City Council members misses deadline for April 6 ballot

Petitioners have missed the deadline to get the recall of six Joplin City Council members, Mayor Ryan Stanley and Councilmembers Diane Reid Adams, Keenan Cortez, Anthony Monteleone, Chuck Copple and Christina Williams on the ballot for the April 6 election. 

The recall efforts is over their support for a mask ordinance to fight the coronavirus pandemic. Petitioners had taken out recall papers earlier and are now making a new effort. Petitioners claim there was a meeting in violation of the Sunshine Law (Open Meetings Act). Petitioners will need about 6500 signatures. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.